Miami-Dade: Vote for Democrats by November 3

En español | Kreyol

Voting by mail? REMEMBER: you MUST sign the back of the envelope!

This November, Miami-Dade has the chance to end the chaos of this presidency and vote in Joe Biden and Kamala Harris to the White House. It is just as important to vote in smart, qualified, empathetic Democrats to seats in Congress, the State Senate, State House, and County offices in Miami-Dade County, as well as municipal seats around the County. Are you election ready? 

Hundreds of volunteers needed for all kinds of roles: sign up here!

Read more about the amendments on the ballots and our recommendation rationale 

President & Vice President

#11 Joseph R. Biden & Kamala D. Harris

Want a printable version of our recommendations? Download a printable version here:

Representative In Congress

#18 Debbie Wasserman Schultz, District 23

#20 Frederica Wilson, District 24

#23 Debbie Mucarsel-Powell, District 26

#25 Donna Shalala, District 27

State Senator

#26 Shevrin “Shev” Jones, Senate 35

#28 José Javier Rodríguez, Senate 37

#31 Javier E. Fernández, Senate 39

State Representative

#34 Cindy Polo, House 103

#36 Maureen Porras, House 105

#38 Annette Collazo, House 110

#41 Ross Elde Hancock, House 111

#43 Nicholas Xavier Duran, House 112

#45 Jean-Pierre Bado, House 114

#47 Franccesca Cesti-Browne, House 115

#51 Ricky Junquera, House 118

#53 Imtiaz Ahmad Mohammad, House 119

#55 Clint Barras, House 120

Clerk of the Circuit Court

#56 Harvey Ruvin 

Justices and Judges

All Justices and Judges are Republican appointments. If not retained, their replacements would be Republican appointments. We intend to elect a Democrat as Florida's governor in 2022, but we currently have no opinion on judicial elections.

County Commissioner

#75 Eileen Higgins, District 5

#76 Cindy Lerner, District 7

#79 Kionne McGhee, District 9

Miami-Dade Mayor

#81 Daniella Levine Cava 

School Board Member

#82 Lucia Baez-Geller, District 3

#85 Dr. Mara Zapata, District 5

#87 Luisa Santos, District 9


Town of Cutler Bay

#100 Michael Callahan, Vice Mayor

City of North Miami Beach

#149 Bruce Kusens, Mayor

#156 McKenzie Fleurimond, Commissioner, Group 5

#158 Michael Joseph, Commissioner, Group 7

City of Sunny Isles Beach

#181 Larisa Svechin, Commissioner, Seat 1

#183 Dana Goldman, Commissioner, Seat 3

State Constitutional Amendment Recommendations

Amendment 1: No #201 (voter suppression)

Amendment 2: Yes #202 (increasing minimum wage)

Amendment 3: No #205 (jungle primaries)

Amendment 4: No #207 (added hurdles for amendments)

Amendment 5:

Amendment 6: Yes #210 (tax discounts for veterans' widows)

Read more about the amendments on the ballots and our recommendation rationale 

County Referendums

Referendum 1: YES #212 (independent county government oversight)

Referendum 2: YES #214 (voting on vacancies in primary and general elections, not special elections)

Referendum 3: NO #217 (making important elections non-partisan)

Read more about the Miami-Dade county referendums and our recommendation rationale

Want a printable version of our recommendations? Download a printable version here:

Have you signed up for a Vote-By-Mail ballot? You can sign up for a mail ballot at

Want to check that your ballot is on its way? Or that is was counted once you send it back in? Go to

Early Voting starts on October 19 at 33 sites around Miami-Dade County, where there will be secure drop boxes where you can drop off your completed Vote-By-Mail ballot in its sealed envelope (be sure to sign the back). Find an Early Voting site near you.