Miami Dems to Mayor Gimenez: Fully fund our public libraries

Date: Thursday, September 5, 2013
Contact: Rachel Johnson, 305.771.2167
Email: [email protected]

Miami-Dade Democratic Party Supports Fully Funding Miami's Library System

Yesterday, the Miami-Dade Democratic Party steering committee unanimously passed a resolution urging Mayor Carlos Gimenez and Commissioners Barreiro, Bovo, Bell, Diaz, Sosa, Souto, Suarez, and Zapata to fully fund our public libraries by restoring the original proposed funding level that would maintain current services and operating hours.

The Mayor's new plan would lay off more than a third of the library system’s staff and a fourth of its operating hours, a move that would drastically scale back the library system countywide, which only five years ago was honored by First Lady Barbara Bush as one of the best in the country.

"For every dollar we invest in Florida public libraries, they provide $8 in value to Florida’s residents. This is about priorities. Mayor Gimenez needs to work just as hard and as long for the people of Miami-Dade as he did brokering a deal for billionaire Stephen Ross,” said Miami Dems Chair Annette Taddeo-Goldstein. “We deserve the same respect and concern, and not to be treated with contempt,” she added, referring to the Mayor's curt dismissal of residents at last week’s public town hall on the county budget.

We urge members of the community to attend the upcoming county commission meeting, Tuesday, September 10th at 5 pm at the Stephen P. Clark Government Center (2nd floor), to express their support for Miami’s libraries. Without organized action against it, Mayor Gimenez’s plan will take effect beginning October 1; this meeting is the final opportunity for a reconsideration vote.

Call and email Mayor Gimenez and the Commissioners who voted against fully funding our libraries and urge them to restore Miami's library system:

Mayor Carlos Gimenez, 305.375.5071, [email protected]
District 5: Bruno A. Barreiro, 305.375.5924, [email protected]
District 6: Rebeca Sosa, 305.375.5696, [email protected]
District 7: Xavier L. Suarez, 305.669.4003, [email protected]
District 8: Lynda Bell, 305.375.5218, [email protected]
District 10: Javier D. Souto, 305.375.4835, [email protected]
District 11: Juan C. Zapata, 305.375.5511, [email protected]
District 12: José "Pepe" Diaz, 305.375.5218, [email protected]
District 13: Esteban Bovo, Jr., 305.375.4831, [email protected]

Sign up for email updates, and join us at county and local club meetings to learn how to get more involved.