Florida Democrats ​Field Record ​Number of Candidates

The Florida Democratic Party ​has a record number of candidates running for ​the State Legislature in 2018 -- with strong candidates contesting every State Senate seat and more than 100 House Districts being challenged​ by quality Democrats who are presenting an alternative to 20 years of GOP rule in the state of Florida. ​

The announcement represents an unprecedented energy and enthusiasm from Democrats all across the state, ​with candidates running in many districts that haven't had Democratic candidates in over a decade.

“From the Gubernatorial race, to State House and Senate, to county commissioners and mayors, we have the most qualified, committed, and exciting group of candidates we have ever seen," said FDP Chair Terrie Rizzo.

"We have a record number of people who have stepped up to run, and what this shows us is that no GOP seat is safe. After nearly 20-years of all Republican-rule, Floridians are fed-up with economic policies that don't benefit working families, they are tired of their children's education being short-changed, and they are tired of leaders who have failed to take action on everything from gun violence prevention, to climate change."

There is a record 82 women running as Democrats in Florida Legislative races, and dozens more running on the municipal level.

"Women will be the difference in 2018, I do truly believe that," said FDP Chair Terrie Rizzo, "They ​are instrumental to the success of the Democratic Party, and they feel more empowered than ever to take their future into their own hands by running for office."

There are currently 16 Democrats among the 40 state senators. By winning five additional seats this November, Democrats can regain a majority in the Florida Senate.

Democrats who qualified for State Senate races from Miami-Dade County

Senate District 36 – David Perez, Hialeah; Julian Santos, Hialeah

Senate District 38 – Current Senator Daphne Campbell, Miami; Jason Pizzo, Miami

Senate District 40 – Current Senator Annette Taddeo, Miami (running unopposed in August primary)

Democrats who qualified for State Senate races from throughout Florida

Senate District  2 – Mary Jeanne Gibson, Fort Walton Beach

Senate District  4 – Billie Bussard, Jacksonville

Senate District  6 – Audrey Gibson, Jacksonville

Senate District  8 – Kayser Ennenking, Gainesville

Senate District 12 – Gary McKechnie, Mount Dora

Senate District 14 – Melissa Martin, Cocoa

Senate District 16 – Amanda Murphy, New Port Richey

Senate District 18 – Janet Cruz, Tampa

Senate District 20 – Joy Gibson, Tampa; Kathy Lewis, Wesley Chapel

Senate District 22 – Bob Doyel, Winter Haven

Senate District 23 – Faith Olivia Babis, Sarasota

Senate District 25 – Robert Levy, Port St. Lucie

Senate District 26 – Catherine Price, Lake Wales

Senate District 28 – Annisa Karim, Naples

Senate District 30 – Rubin Anderson, West Palm Beach; Bobby Powell, Jr., West Palm Beach

Senate District 32 – Lauren Book, Plantation

Senate District 34 – Gary M. Farmer Jr., Fort Lauderdale

Sign up for email updates, and join us at county and local club meetings to learn how to get more involved.