Stay tuned for more info from our trip to Tallahassee on Monday, February 26


Whether or not you can make it to Tallahassee, we need your help with these three bills that are quickly making it's way through Tallahassee. Below you'll find information on the bills and the name of key decision makers and their contact information. 

You can also look up who your Representative is by going here

updated as of 02/20/2018

Good: Assault Weapons and Large Capacity Magazines; HB 219/ SB 196
Prohibits the sale, transfer or possession of assault weapons or large capacity magazines.

Last Action: Not heard by any committee. The State House refused to even consider the bill. Ask Republicans to hear the bill!

Decision Makers: Speaker Corcoran (R); Speaker pro tempore Jeanette Nunez (R); Incoming Speaker Jose Oliva (R); Majority Leader Ray Rodrigues (R); Senate President Joe Negron; Majority Leader Wilton Simpson (R)

Bad: Background Check Loophole; HB 553/ SB 740

This is an omnibus Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services which has language that would create a background check loophole for concealed carry permit applicants. The bill allows someone to obtain a concealed carry permit if their background check is not completed within 90 days.

Last Action: Politico reported that the gun language was removed from the bill. It will be heard by the Senate Appropriations Committee on Thursday 2/22 at 2pm.

Decision Makers: Senators Bradley (R-Chair); Flores (R-Vice Chair); Baxley (R); Bean (R); Benacquisto (R); Book (D); Bracy (D); Brandes (R); Braynon (D); Gainer (R); Galvano (R); Gibson (D); Grimsley (R); Montford (D); Passidomo (R); Powell (D); Simmons (R); Simpson (R); Stargel (R); Stewart (D)

Bad: School “Safety”; HB 621; SB 1236

One day after Parkland the Florida Senate Judiciary committee placed SB1236 on it’s next agenda on February 20 at 4pm. We have to stop this bill in the Senate. This bill provides that school districts may designate certain individuals to carry concealed weapons on school property. While the individuals must have received active shooter training and completed a school safety program and firearm proficiency training, they do not have to be law enforcement and parents will have no say in who the designee is. 

Last Action: The House bill passed the Criminal Justice Committee, and has been referred to the Pre-K-12 Quality Subcommittee, but has not yet been placed on a calendar. The Senate bill will be heard by Judiciary Committee on Tuesday 02/20/18.

Decision Makers: Senators Steube (R-Chair); Benacquisto (R-Vice Chair); Bracy (D); Bradley (R); Flores (R); Garcia (R); Gibson (D); Mayfield (R); Powell (D); Thurston Jr (D)

Bad: Religious Institutions; SB 1048/HB 1419

This bill will allow guns on property owned, rented, or leased by a religious institution even if the institution is located in a “sensitive area” where concealed carry is normally not permitted under §790.06. The Senate version has been amended in several ways, including to clarify that if the religious institution is meeting on property with a school, guns may only be carried during non-school hours. The amendment also excludes college campuses.

Last Action: The amended Senate bill passed Judiciary and Rules and will now go to the Senate floor for a 3rd reading (TBA). The House version passed the Criminal Justice Subcommittee and the Judiciary Committees; the next stop is a floor vote which is not scheduled yet.

Decision Makers: Speaker Corcoran (R); Speaker pro tempore Jeanette Nunez (R); Incoming Speaker-designate Jose Oliva (R); Majority Leader Ray Rodrigues (R); Senate President Joe Negron; Majority Leader Wilton Simpson (R);


Contact Information  for members of the Senate Appropriations Committee and Senate Judiciary Committee

Chair: Senator Rob Bradley (R)

(850) 487-5005;

Senator Lauren Book (D)

(850) 487-5032;

 Vice Chair: Senator Anitere Flores (R)

(850) 487-5039;

 Senator Randolph Bracy (D)

(850) 487-5011;

Senator Dennis Baxley (R)

(850) 487-5012;

 Senator Oscar Braynon II (D)

(850) 487-5035;

Senator Aaron Bean (R)

(850) 487-5004;

 Senator Audrey Gibson (D)

(850) 487-5006;

Senator David Simmons (R)

(850) 487-5009;

Senator Bill Montford (D)

(850) 487-5003;

Senator Jeff Brandes (R)

(850) 487-5024;

Senator Bobby Powell (D)

(850) 487-5030;

 Senator George B. Gainer (R)

(850) 487-5002;

 Senator Linda Stewart (D)

(850) 487-5013;

Senator Bill Galvano (R)

(850) 487-5021;

Senator Wilton Simpson (R)

(850) 487-5010;

Senator Denise Grimsley (R)

(850) 487-5026;

Senator Kelli Stargel (R)

(850) 487-5022;

Senator Kathleen Passidomo (R)

(850) 487-5028;

Senator Lizbeth Benacquisto (R)

(850) 487-5027;

Senator Greg Steube

(850) 487-5023;

Senator Rob Bradley

(850) 487-5005;

Senator Rene Garcia
(850) 487-5036;

Senator Debbie Mayfield
(850) 487-5017;

Senator Perry Thurston
(850) 487-5033;